School Reps

Each School at the University elects two Representatives – an Undergraduate School Representative and a Postgraduate School Representative. Their collective role is to represent their students to the School, the wider University and the Students’ Association.


The Undergraduate School Rep represents the needs of Undergraduate students, from first year to final year of UG study.


The Postgraduate School Rep represents the needs of Postgraduate students, including both taught students and research students at Master’s and doctoral level.


The School Reps are elected in the student elections which take place in March (for UG positions) and October (for PG positions). You should go to your School Rep if you identify an issue which crosses multiple courses and programmes. Relevant school-wide issues could include:

  • - Provision of study space
  • - Transport
  • - Teaching resources e.g. lecture facilities
  • - Teaching methods
  • - Access to facilities
  • - Communication

Your School Reps for 2018-19 are:

Undergraduate School Reps

Biological Sciences: Julia Auer

(Deanery of) Biomedical Sciences: Alejandro Esteves

Business School: Erica Leung

Chemistry: Chen-e Low

Divinity: Euan Meston

Economics: Jenny Li

Edinburgh College of Art: Fiona Gray

Edinburgh Medical School: Mu'azzamah Ahmad

Education: Bobbie Szabad

Engineering: Alice Patig

GeoSciences: Shane O'Neill

Health in Social Sciences: Stephanie Vallancey Martinson

History, Classics and Archaeology: Lauren Porter

Informatics: Qais Patankar

Law: Daniel King

Literatures, Languages and Cultures: Leah Duncan-Karrim

Mathematics: Matthew Hehir

Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences: Laura Boxleitner

Physics and Astronomy: Netra Gourlay

Social and Political Sciences: Fatima Seck

Veterinary Sciences: Nirvana Leaver


Postgraduate School Reps

Biological Sciences: Vacant

(Deanery of) Biomedical Sciences: Vacant

Business School: Ewin Teo

Chemistry: Vacant

(Deanery of) Clinical Sciences: Misbahu Ahmad

Divinity: Vacant

Economics: Vacant

Edinburgh College of Art: Tommaso Zerbi

Education: Laura McKenzie

Engineering: Vacant

Geosciences: Kristi Knudson

Health in Social Sciences: Andrew Waddington

History, Classics and Archaeology: Ian Boyd

Informatics: Stefanie Speichert

Law: Shona Warwick

Literatures, Languages and Cultures: James Konrad Puchowski

Mathematics: Clarisa Loga

(Deanery of) Molecular, Genetic and Population Health Science: Vacant

Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences: Candice Mathers

Physics and Astronomy: Vacant

Social and Political Sciences: Justin Ho

Veterinary Sciences: Omar Alfituri


To find out more about opportunities and key contacts in your School, please go to our School Pages.