EUSA Teaching Awards 2013 – Winners Announced

Edinburgh University Students Association has announced the winners and runners up of the 5th EUSA Teaching Awards, at an Oscar style ceremony in front of invited University VIPs, shortlisted nominees and the students who nominated them.

The Awards this year saw the first undergraduate student win a Teaching Awards, with Connar Mawer, the President of the Biomedical Society, winning the ‘Supporting Students’ Learning Award for his work in supporting peer learning in his School and through the Society.

EUSA VP Academic Affairs, Andrew Burnie, said: “Tonight has been fantastic, and all of the shortlisted nominees should be proud that out of thousands of nominations, they were judged to be the very best. There is such a breadth of teaching talent across the University and we are proud that EUSA continues to enable students to highlight those that they see delivering for them.

I am particularly pleased that Connar has been recognised for his work in founding and running the Biomedical society – highlighting the importance of peer support and the different ways that students learning can be supported”

The Awards are entirely student led, with University of Edinburgh students nominating those teaching, teaching support staff, postgraduate tutors, students who support other students learning on peer support schemes, Subject Areas and Courses. A student judging panel determined the shortlist and winners.


And the winners are…


Best Feedback Award

Winner: Allan Clark (Informatics)

Runner up: Simon King (Philosophy, Psychology & Language)


Developing Students' Employability Award

Winner: Andrew Curtis (GeoSciences)

Runner Up: Tina Duren (Chemical Engineering)


Best Personal Tutor Award

Winner: Daniel Carr (Law School)

Runner up: Joan Smith (Edinburgh College of Art)


Postgraduates Who Tutor Award

Winner: Sarah Humayun (Literatures, Languages & Cultures)

Runner up: Holly Davis (Social & Political Studies)


Best Research or Dissertation Supervisor

Winner: Niamh Nic Shuibhne (Law School)

Runner up: Kathleen McSweeney (History, Classics & Archaeology)


Teaching With Technology Award

Winner: Jan Eichhorn (Social & Political Science)

Runner up: Fritha Langford (Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies)


Teaching in the International Classroom Award

Winner: Graeme Laurie (Law School)

Runner up: Sakino Nakayama (Literatures, Languages & Cultures)


Robert Kendell Award for Teaching in Medicine

Winner: Eleri Williams (Molecular & Clinical Medicine)

Runner up: Alwayn Leacock (Molecular & Clinical Medicine)


Award for Teaching in the Veterinary Sciences

Winner: Kevin Eatwell (Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies)

Runner up: Susan Kempson (Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies)


Award for Teaching in the College of Science and Engineering

Winner: Sue Sierra (Mathematics)

Runner up: Martin Reekie (Engineering)


 Award for Teaching in the College of Humanities and the Social Sciences

Winner: Lauren Hall-Lew (Philosophy, Psychology & Language Sciences)

Runner Up: Stephan Malinowski (History, Classics & Archaeology)


Supporting Students’ Learning Award

Winner: Connar Mawer (President, Biomedical Society)

Runner up: Wendy Housam (Edinburgh College of Art)


Best School or Subject Area Award

Winner: Celtic and Scottish Studies

Runner up: Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies


Best Course Award

Winner: Japanese 2 -  Joint Japanese 2A & 2B (Literature, Languages & Cultures)

Runner up: Climate Change Impacts and Adaptation (GeoSciences)