Philosophy Society


  • Philosophy Society Academic Year Student Membership£8.00
  • Philosophy Society Semester One Membership£5.00
  • Constitution

    08 Sep 2019

    This is the most recent constitution passed at the 3/5/19 EGM.

If you would like to promote your society event on the Students' Association's What's On page, fill in this form

There are no current news articles.

Founded in 1871, Philosophy Society is a lively and active academic society which aims to promote the study of philosophy throughout the university. We run four events every week including guest lectures, discussion groups and reading groups, as well as copious socials and academic support sessions. We maintain a society library in the Dugald Stewart building and are in the process of publishing a regular academic journal. Our lecture series attracts leading names in philosophy from all over the world, last year including talks from Simon Blackburn and Timothy Williamson, while our lively discussion groups offer a friendly and informal context in which to chat and discuss philosophical issues. The society assumes no previous knowledge and actively encourages students from a wide range of academic disciplines to come along and get involved in any way that they would like to.

Academic Support Officer
Zoë Brunner
Discussion Group Organiser
Cezar Mihalcea
Journal Editor
Will Penkethman-Carr
Ordinary Member
Matthew Festus
Reading Group Organiser
Jasmine Hawkins
Deniz Yalcin
Social Secretary
Angus Forbes-Cable
Nathan Zou