Marxist Society


  • Marxist Society Non Student Membership£0.00
  • Marxist Society Student Membership£0.00
  • Constitution 2019

    28 Mar 2019

    Updated constitution from 2018-2019

  • Risk Assessment

    15 Sep 2019

    List of potential safety concerns for our activities.

  • Risk Assessment 2020

    09 Jun 2020

    The risk assessment form for the activities of the Edinburgh University Marxist Society for the academic year 2020/2021.

If you would like to promote your society event on the Students' Association's What's On page, fill in this form

There are no current news articles.

Welcome to the Edinburgh University Marxist Society! Our Society is committed to raising the profile of Marxist ideas on and off campus. We organise political discussions and intervene in local politics.

The University of Edinburgh Marxist Society, familiarly known as MarxSoc, is a non-sectarian leftist organisation which holds strongly to an intersectional feminist, anti-racist, pro LGBTQIA+, anti-capitalist ideology. 


As a society we aim to provide students interested in radical left-wing politics with a forum to discuss, debate, and learn about all verities of left ideology. We are a very open and welcoming group of leftists.


We do not hold any affiliation with any political organisation and support very few specific policies beyond the basics listed above, in an attempt to support an open debate forum where members can feel comfortable sharing and discussing various points of view.


The basic format of the society is one where a weekly event is held, ranging from relaxed socials to formal lectures given by visiting guests, and everything in between. Some other fun things to expect at meetings are open debates, talks about pressing political issues, planning meetings with banner making for protests, book club meetings, and much more.


All meetings are held in a democratic format with an attempt to allow all those in attendance to participate equally in a safe space. All society decisions are made via democratic consensus structure, meaning committee members act as purely administrative positions and the society itself functions completely autonomously. Check us out on Facebook or stop by one of our meetings some time! If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact us for more information on any of our channels or by emailing

Also please take a look at our video that briefly explains who we are, what we do and what we have planned for 2020 Welcome Week


Constance Bulhak
Tom Brown
Kuba Szwedowicz
Vice President
Kate Goss