Humanist Society logo

Humanist Society

The University of Edinburgh Humanist Society is a society dedicated to promoting free speech, constructive conversation, big ideas, caring communities and reason.


  • Humanist Society Student Membership£4.00
  • Humanist Society Non-Student Membership£7.00
  • Constitution 2014

    22 Mar 2014

    HumSoc Constitution (as passed 12th March 2014)

  • Constitution 2018

    11 Mar 2018

    This is the Society's constitution, last updated March 2018.

  • Constitution 2019

    27 Mar 2019

    This is the Society's constitution from 25 March 2019.

  • EGM minutes

    22 Nov 2018

    These are the minutes from our Extraordinary General Meeting on 05/11/18, where Christoffer Aminoff was elected Secretary of the committee.

  • EUSA Student Council 270214 Papers

    28 Feb 2014

    EUSA Student Council 27/02/14 Papers Includes "EUSA is a Secularist" motion, as submitted in February 2014.

  • Risk Assessment 2018

    24 May 2018

    As per Eusa regulation we are required to upload a risk assessment document to this page.

If you would like to promote your society event on the Students' Association's What's On page, fill in this form

There are no current news articles.

Welcome to the University of Edinburgh Humanist Society!

Together, we engage with big ideas, champion reason, and aspire to live truly meaningful lives.

We value critical thinking over dogma, conversation over conflict, and virtue over virtue-signalling. Those are ideals truly worth standing for.

We meet weekly to discuss interesting topics, give and listen to talks, and strive to build a strong community. Some laughing may occur in the process. In addition to our weekly events, we will invite guest speakers, go on excursions, arrange movie nights and pub quizes and much more. If you want to engage with truly fascinating ideas, and make friendships that will last a lifetime, the Humanist Society is the society for you.

Make sure to join the conversation at our Facebook ( and Twitter (@edunihumsoc1) or email us at if you have any questions.

Once again, welcome!

Adam Frisk
Christoffer Aminoff
Sam Angell