Geographical Society

Welcome to one of the university's oldest and largest societies! Whether it's our academic talks, careers events, exchanges, socials, charity nights or 3 sports teams, there's something for everyone!


  • Geographical Society Non-Student Membership£15.00
  • Geographical Society Student Membership£8.00

If you would like to promote your society event on the Students' Association's What's On page, fill in this form

There are no current news articles.

Welcome to Edinburgh University's Geographical Society!


Welcome to GeogSoc, Scotland's largest Geographical Society of over 200 current members and 1800+ alumni members. Formed in 1935, we are one of the university's oldest societies and have broadened to a huge range of activities over our 85 years, from charity work to sports teams to academic talks!


Our aim is to enhance the Geosciences community of Edinburgh University by strengthening friendships of all years and to provide bespoke opportunities to you during your time at Edinburgh. We host an abundance of fun and inspiring events and socials such as Academic Families; the Autumn Ceilidh, careers events, and the unforgettable Annual Ball! GeogSoc is run by fun-loving members from all years who have a passion for everything Geography related and who care about improving upon the experience of the students at the university. 


Introducing our 2020/2021 Committee!

President: Sheela Steele
Vice President: Emily Stammers
Secretary: Mary Cox
Treasurer: Sam Tenny
RSGS Correspondent: G Elliot
Welfare Office: Elena Henning
Charities Coordinator: Sophie Penman
EGEA Officer: Jakub Wieczorkowski
Digital Creative Manager: Lucy Haslam
Corporate Sponsorship Manager: Sam Scholes
Social Secretaries: Michael Lynch & Lucien Staddon Foster & Izzy Ely
Sports Secretary: Sam Doble Thomson 
Second Year Rep: 
Lou Elliot
First Year Rep: To Be Confirmed...

Follow us 

Like us

Connect with us

Find us 


Charity Coordinator
Sophie Penman
Corporate Affairs Manager
Sam Scholes
Digital Marketing Executive
Lucy Haslam
Emily Stammers
Sheela Steele
RSGS Correspondent
G Elliott
Mary Cox
Social Secretary
Michael Lynch
Lucien Staddon Foster
Sam Tenny
Vice President
Emily Stammers
Welfare Officer
Elena Henning