Modern Dance Society

Complete beginner or advanced dancer - WE WANT YOU! Choose from 5 professionally taught dance styles, incredible competitions, spectacular shows and socials galore - strut over and join EUMDS!


  • Modern Dance Society Academic Year Student Membership£35.00
  • Modern Dance Society Free Mailing List£0.00
  • Modern Dance Society Academic Year Non Student Membership£37.00
  • Modern Dance Society Semester Two Student Membership£25.00
  • Modern Dance Society Semester Two Non Student Membership£27.00

If you would like to promote your society event on the Students' Association's What's On page, fill in this form

There are no current news articles.















“Nobody cares if you can't dance well. Just get up and dance. Great dancers are great because of their passion.”

Martha Graham


As the biggest dance society at the University of Edinburgh, everyone in Edinburgh University Modern Dance Society (EUMDS) has one thing in common, passion; a passion for dancing, passion for the society and passion for fun! From weekly classes and class showcases, hosting our own inter-university competition, competing across the UK, regular socials, society fundraising and our very own end of year show, we do it all. Whether you’re a complete beginner or have been dancing for years, everyone is welcome at EUMDS!














What we offer:

  • Weekly classes in 5 different dance styles
  • An opportunity to be a part of our performance group, representing the society around Edinburgh
  • A chance to audition for our award-winning competition teams that compete around the UK
  • Regular socials, including our own holiday to another European city!
  • Several opportunities to perform



EUMDS offers a diverse range of classes catering to all abilities, with our dedicated team of professional teachers bringing us brilliant classes in 5 dance styles:


  • Jazz
  • Tap
  • Ballet
  • Contemporary
  • Hip-hop


Each style has classes at both beginner and intermediate/advanced levels making them accessible as well as challenging. Classes are only £2 for members and £4 for non-members. Why not take advantage of the diversity and try a new style you’ve never done before? It’s never too late to join, just turn up to the classes you’re interested in.














Our classes have several opportunities to perform, including our winter class showcase and our annual show! This is the highlight of our EUMDS calendar, bringing all our members together to show off what we do best!








Performance Group

Our Performance Group is a team of 10-12 dancers who represent the society by performing at charity and promotional events around Edinburgh. These include ‘The Conscious Ball’ and ‘The Edinburgh Charity Fashion Show’. It’s a great way to improve your performance skills and make friends for life! Auditions will take place in September so keep an eye on our Facebook page for information about audition times!









Competition Teams

Every year our competition teams represent the University of Edinburgh at dance competitions across the UK. EUMDS has teams at both intermediate and advanced levels in Jazz, Tap, Ballet, Contemporary and Hip-hop. Our 2018/19 competition season was our most successful yet, bringing home 33 trophies, including best choreography, highest overall score and best overall university! 














Aside from attending other UK competitions, we also hold our own inter-university competition, which sees around 600 dancers come together in Assembly Rooms, George Street. This is definitely a day you do not want to miss! Audition times for our intermediate and advanced competition teams will be posted on our Facebook page so make sure to give it a like so you don’t miss out!



We host regular socials ranging from themed nights out to BBQs on the Meadows to give everyone the opportunity to meet other people in the society and become part of the EUMDS family. With dance families and joint socials with other societies and sports clubs, it’s the perfect way to meet new people. We also organise our very own holiday to another city in Europe! There’s a social for everyone at EUMDS!









Annual Winter Ball

Our annual winter ball is the highlight of our social calendar. It brings all our members together for a classy night of music, champagne and of course loads of dancing!








Social Media

Keep updated with all of EUMDS' antics via our social media where you can find our class timetable and all our latest events, audition times and snaps! If you have any queries, do not hesitate to contact us!



Instagram: @eumds

Twitter: @moderndance1

Youtube: EUModernDanceSoc



Whether you’ve been dancing for years or just want to try something new, EUMDS is the society for you!


Ballet Rep
Andrew Ricketts
Contemporary Rep
Leanne Kinnear
External Competition Coordinator
Janice To
Fundraising Officer
Wallis Jacobson
Hip Hop Rep
Bronwen Barnes-Archer
Internal Competition Coordinator
Alice Mason
Jazz Representative
Georgina Brogden
Performance Group Leader
Anna Phillips
Holly Oswald
Zoe Pearson
Publicity Officer
Izzy Bly
Heather Devoy
Social Secretary
Rose Roberts
Siobhan Wild
Tap Rep
Lucy McClure
Andrew Raeburn
Zoe Pearson