Edinburgh Movie Production Society logo

Edinburgh Movie Production Society

We make movies! Our society spends the year creating films, learning about film production and generally having a good time. We are also happy to help other societies with film queries.


  • Movie Productions Society Academic Year Student Membership£10.00
  • Movie Productions Society Academic Year Non Student Membership£15.00
  • EMPS Constitution

    26 Apr 2012

    EMPS constitution, updated 27/03/2017

  • Live Risk Assessment

    06 Jul 2018

    The Risk Assessment produced by EMPS, which will be updated regularly as and when new events are announced or dates and times of currently scheduled events are confirmed.

If you would like to promote your society event on the Students' Association's What's On page, fill in this form

There are no current news articles.


We Make Movies!

Weekly meetings:

Wednesday, 7:00pm, David Hume Tower, LG (Room Varies),  University of Edinburgh


Edinburgh Movie Production Society (EMPS) is The University of Edinburgh’s premiere society for film making, camera rental and movie competitions, workshops and events. 

EMPS has a great range of pro-quality equipment including cameras, microphones, lights and accessories, which is available for hire at the lowest prices in Edinburgh to students and non-students for your own projects (see equipment pages) as well as being available for free for EMPS competitions and events.

Come Semester 2 we celebrate the quality films our members have made at our very own Oscars, the Golden Video Awards (GVAs). Think kilts, dresses, films and popcorn. Whether you were involved in producing a film or just fancy watching what we've created look out for our flyers and posters closer to the event.

The society also produces films for other societies, companies and organisations. Contact us to discuss your ideas!

EMPS won the prestigious Society of the Year Award at the Edinburgh University Students’ Association Society Awards 2011.


Find us on:








Careers Officer
Arjun Jacob
Communications Officer
Rue Chaladauskaite
Equipment Officer
Ed Dowding
Ordinary Members
Alistair Sealy
Sarema Shorr
David English
Jeremy Pestle
Social Team
Leticia Batista
Florence Chilver
Cate Fraser
Sponsorship Officer
Alexander Gamota
Megan Ajioka
Juro Oravec