Chemistry Society logo

Chemistry Society

The one-stop shop for everything Chemistry at Edinburgh.


  • Chemistry Society - Academic Year - Student Membership£5.00
  • Chemistry Society - Academic Year - Non Student Membership£5.00
  • ChemSoc Live Risk Assessment 2018

    27 Jul 2018

    The risk assessment covers all possible scenarios at events organised and hosted by ChemSoc including socials, welcome week events and meetings such as the AGM. Please read over this document and get acquainted with the society protocol. Thanks, and stay safe!

  • Committee Meeting Minutes 7th Sept 2018

    08 Sep 2018

    Minutes for the first committee meeting of the academic year which focussed on organising events for fresher's week.

  • Minutes from 3rd September 2014

    03 Sep 2014

    Minutes from the Committee meeting held on the 3rd of September 2014.

  • Minutes from 4th April 2014

    22 Apr 2014

    Minutes from 4th April 2014

  • Minutes from EGM

    03 Sep 2014

    Minutes from the EGM of the Chemistry Society. This took place on the 3rd of September 2014.

  • Minutes of meeting 20140924

    15 Oct 2014

    Minutes of the ChemSoc Committee meeting help on the 24th September 2014.

  • The Chemistry Society Constitution

    03 Sep 2014

    The Constitution of the Edinburgh University Chemistry Society, approved at EGM on 3rd September 2014

If you would like to promote your society event on the Students' Association's What's On page, fill in this form

There are no current news articles.

Welcome to the society page of the Edinburgh University Chemistry Society!

At 233 years old the Edinburgh University Chemistry Society is the oldest chemistry society in the world. With hundreds of members from the School of Chemistry and an Academic Families scheme, ChemSoc is the social catalyst for forming bonds with other chemists from around the school. As always we will have social events running throughout the year, from casual pub crawls and quizzes to the much anticipated ChemSoc Burns Supper. However as an academic society, it can’t all be about the ethanol so there is plenty on the academic platter as well with events such as the annual Walker Memorial Lecture, which in recent years has been presented by notable members of the scientific community, from Nobel Prize winners to YouTube stars.

The Academic Family scheme, launched in the 2015/16 academic year, has been a resounding success and as such will be continuing this coming year with more participants, more families and more family socials!

The first ChemSoc social of the year will be a pub crawl on Thursday 13th September where you will be able to sign up for membership if you haven't already done so at the Freshers Fair (taking place Wednesday 12th and Thursday 13th September from 11am-4pm). We will also be selling membership (£5) and lab coats (£15) in the Museum in the Joseph Black Building during the first week of lectures (24th-28th of September) for new students who will need them for their first lab session.

Hopefully this has given you a flavour as to what being a member on ChemSoc entails, so if you think there is going to be chemistry between us, join ChemSoc!

The committee can be contacted through Make sure to join our Facebook group and Twitter to keep up with our latest events!

2nd Year Rep
Laura Aspinall
3rd Year Rep
Robin Dell
4th/5th Year Rep
Stuart Boyce
Academic Families Rep
Alexandra Bain
Inorganic Rep
Jay Gaston
Organic Rep
Helen Jones
PG Inorganic Rep
Jay Gaston
PG Organic Rep
Helen Jones
PG Physical Rep
Sergio Adan Bermudez
Postgraduate President
Alexis Hennessy
Molly Dunn
Rebecca Glover
Social Secretary
Ottilia Rossert
Sports Rep
Michael Wilde
Lewis Astin